Asko|Schönberg to play at official opening sound installation WannaSwing

19 september 2019 — Britt van Klaveren

The interactive sound installation WannaSwing is getting a permanent place at Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ in Amsterdam on 26 September 2019, after touring The Netherlands for several years. WannaSwing exists of eight swings that produces several musical works. The compositions are "played" and directed by the people sitting on the swings. 

The swings are a creation of WannaPlayground, stage director Caecilia Thunnissen and scenographer Jan Boiten, who felt the need to find a new way to bring music to the public in a new, unconventional and playful manner. As a result, the WannaSwing was created. 

Several composers, such as Willem Jeths, Mayke Nas, Joey Roukens and Rob Zuidam, wrote a piece especially for WannaSwing. On Thursday evening 26 September at 19:50 Asko|Schönberg's percussionist Joey Marijs and clarinettist David Kweksilber will take place alongside the installation for a festive introduction, during which they will perform On Swings by Joey Roukens. An interaction will emerge between the musicians and the swings, as the swings are "played" by visitors whom are allowed to take a seat on the swings. This is the first time musicians will play together with WannaSwing - a unique event to attend. 

From 26 September onwards visitors can listen to the following compositions whilst swinging on the installation: 

David Dramm Wanna Play?

Joey Roukens On Swings 

Rob Zuidam Without title 

Mayke Nas It don’t mean a thing

Willem Jeths Trepidus

Rick van Veldhuizen Spaces_between words.

New compositions will be added to the repertoire on a regular basis. 

The setup of WannaSwing at the Muziekgebouw is powered by the BPD Cultuurfonds and the Stichting BAMB. More information on WannaSwing can be found here:

WannaplayVondelpark Pjotrp 252

WannaplayVondelpark Pjotrp 252

ga terug