Tulpmania

Location theatre about the speculative bubble around the tulip

Tulpmania 

VEENFABRIEK
ASKO|SCHÖNBERG
SLAGWERK DEN HAAG
direction Paul Koek 
composition Yannis Kyriakides 
dramaturgy Paul Slangen 
scenography Theun Mosk 
costumes Dorothee Curio 
projections Thomas van Krugten

Order tickets for:

Wednesday, 29 April 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar

try out

Thursday, 30 April 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar

try out

Friday, 1 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar

Première

Saturday, 2 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Wednesday, 6 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Thursday, 7 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Friday, 8 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Saturday, 9 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Sunday, 10 May 2015
16:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Wednesday, 13 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Thursday, 14 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Friday, 15 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Saturday, 16 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Sunday, 17 May 2015
16:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Wednesday, 20 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Thursday, 21 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Friday, 22 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Saturday, 23 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Sunday, 24 May 2015
16:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Wednesday, 27 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Thursday, 28 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Friday, 29 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Saturday, 30 May 2015
19:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar
Sunday, 31 May 2015
16:00 hours
Voorhout
Bloembollenexporteur Moolenaar

Share

TULPMANIA (TULIP MANIA) is a major music theatre production about the enchanting beauty of a flower, and the greed it can generate. There will be 25 special on-site performances in May 2015 – with dining, music, theatre and exciting speakers – in Voorhout, right in the heart of the Dutch tulip growing region. TULPMANIA will be staged in the flower halls owned by Moolenaar, one of the world’s biggest flower bulb exporters.

The tulip arrived in the Netherlands from Turkey at the end of the 16th century and was first cultivated here in 1593, at the Hortus Botanicus in Leiden. The flower’s great beauty soon made it a much-prized status symbol. Dealers and growers smelled an opportunity, so from the early 17th century they drove prices upwards – until the bubble burst and tulip mania went into history as the first ever stock market crash.

TULPMANIA is a music theatre production created by director Paul Koek, composer Yannis Kyriakides and writer Saskia de Jong. They have brought together poetry, music and theatre into a single composition. The three-course meal and outstanding, surprising speakers make TULPMANIA much more than a play.

*Language no problem.

Tulpmania is a co-production of Veenfabriek with Asko|Schönberg.
Video
Tulpmania

Tulpmania trailer